top of page
  • Lauren Asner

If I Were a Coffee Mug

I wish I were a coffee mug

So every morning

When the moon lands slowly on the horizon

You’d hold me.

Fade out of humdrum day dreams as you

Sipped on me

Staring blankly, picturing burnt out street lights

On a city block you’d scrimmage through identical souvenir shops to buy me.

I wish I were a coffee mug

So every morning

When bitter thoughts devour your fragile mind,

You’d kiss my edges with shut eyes and a clenched fist

With brown eyes and cracked lips,

Before laying me down

On a black and white headline.

I wish I were a coffee mug

So every morning

When you can’t stand opening your eyes,

You’d bring me close.

Inhale sweet steam,

Breath out toxic adolescent curiosity

Then forget what you were holding,

But continue to cradle me.

I wish I were a coffee mug

So every night

When heartbeats and shut eyes play hide and seek,

You’d neglect to fill me.

Leave me empty, listening to your kettle sing prayers,

You’d drop me.

I’d shatter sharp to the touch,

And you’d know better than to try and pick me up.


‘Log in / Sign up’ to like & comment!

0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page